Dr. Rachel Vreeman Named First Global Impression Award Recipient

INDIANAPOLIS (August 27, 2018) — The International Centered presented its prestigious International Citizen of the Year (ICY) Award to Indiana Governor Eric J. Holcomb during their annual award dinner at the Indiana Roof Ballroom on August 23, 2018.

The Center’s Board of Directors selected Governor Holcomb as this year’s recipient in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the globalization of Indiana. Former Governor Mitch Daniels, President of Purdue University and a former ICY award recipient, and Melissa Proffitt, an International Center Board Member and Indianapolis Office Managing Partner at Ice Miller, served as co-chairs of the event.

This year’s event also honored Dr. Rachel Vreeman of the IU Center for Global Health, as she received the inaugural Global Impression Award, an honor designed to celebrate emerging leaders throughout Indiana whose work is directly impacting the globalization of the state.

Dr. Vreeman is Director of Research for the IU Center for Global Health and Indiana-led AMPATH Consortium, and she is honored for her work to advance global health research and Indiana’s reputation in global health. The award was presented by Shash Goyal of Salesforce, a Board member of The International Center.

“Governor Holcomb has demonstrated a bold commitment to taking Indiana to the Next Level in many regards, but in particular through global engagement. His unprecedented efforts to attract foreign direct investment and to support Hoosier exports are already bringing successes to Indiana and are laying the foundations for Indiana to increasingly succeed in our global economy,” said Board Chair Marsha Stone, Senior Director of Enterprise for the Indianapolis Airport Authority.

“Being introduced to the caliber of the three Global Impression Award finalists, and the accomplishments of Dr. Vreeman in particular, gave all 600 guests assembled for the ICY event aglimpse into the future of Indiana, which shows great promise of being a bright one, indeed,” added Ms. Stone.

The other Global Impression Award finalists were Dr. Brooke Kandel-Cisco, a fellow with the Desmond Tutu Center for Peace, Reconciliation and Global Justice, and Jennifer pearl, Director of International programs at the Indy Chamber.

Call for nominations for the 2019 Global Impression Award will be available on The International Center’s website in the spring of 2019.

# # #

About The International Center

For more than 45 years, The International Center has served as a guide to the world’s cultural landscape, and a catalyst for the state’s international growth. Working in collaboration with businesses, organizations, government agencies, educational institutions and individual citizens, The Center expands Indiana’s global interest through a variety of programs and services and through convening diverse interests who share common international goals. The International Center is a member of Global Ties U.S.

About the International Citizen of the Year Award

Since 1985, The International Center has honored individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Indiana and the world in the fields of business, culture, education, government, medicine, media, research, sports or community service.

About the Global Impression Award

Established in 2018, the Global Impression Award honors “rising stars” who are demonstrating success in their profession, directly impacting the global community within Indiana, and whose work has a considerable impact on a vision for an Indiana that is a vibrant place to live and work, while valuing all cultures.

List of International Citizen of the Year Honorees

2018 Governor Eric J. Holcomb
2017 Pacers Sports & Entertainment
2016 Dr. Michael A. McRobbie
2015 Dr. John C. Lechleiter
2014 Mayor Greg Ballard and Mrs. Winnie Ballard
2013 Mark Miles
2011 Tim Solso
2010 Gov. Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.
2008 IU-Kenya Partnership
2007 Dr. Martin C. Jischke
2006 Ambassador Randall L. Tobias
2005 James T. Morris
2004 Christel DeHaan
2003 30th Anniversary Award: The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
2002 Rev. Fr. Boniface Hardin, O.S.B.
2001 Sidney Taurel
2000 Tony George
1999 Jeff Smulyan
1998 Bret Waller
1997 Lawrence H. Einhorn, M.D.
1996 Kai and Tom Binford
1995 KP Singh
1993 Margaret Sheridan
1993 Dr. Geoffrey Bannister
1991 Maestro Raymond Leppard
1990 The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton
1990 Sr. Marie Pierre Buttell
1989 The Honorable William H. Hudnut
1989 George Mikelsons
1987 The Honorable Robert D. Orr
1986 The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
1985 Riad Shaheen