International Citizen of the Year

The International Center has postponed the International Citizen of the Year (ICY) award dinner and program previously scheduled for September 29, 2020, out of an abundance of concern for the safety and wellbeing of the honoree, program participants, and invited guests.

Dan Coats, an American statesman and former diplomat, will be honored with the International Citizen of the Year Award at the 2021 event. The date for the rescheduled event will be announced soon!

Read the Full News Release

Since 1985, The International Center has honored individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Indiana and the world in the fields of business, culture, education, government, medicine, media, research, sports or community service.

To learn more about the event and 2021 event sponsorship opportunities, please contact Glennda McGann, Development and Engagement Director. 

 Become a Sponsor     Read the 2020 ICY News Release


2019 Honoree

Board members of The International Center selected Michael I. Crowther, CEO of the Indianapolis Zoological Society, as the recipient of the 2019 International Citizen of the Year Award (ICY). Mike was honored with the award at the ICY award dinner on October 8, 2019.

Mike Crowther is considered the founder of the biennial Indianapolis Prize, recognized as the world’s leading award for animal conservation. The Indianapolis Prize has positioned Indianapolis as an international hub of wildlife conservation leadership and brings global attention to the city with more than two billion media impressions during each two-year cycle.

Previous International Citizen of the Year Award Honorees

2018 Governor Eric Holcomb
2017 Pacers Sports & Entertainment
2016 Michael A. McRobbie
2015 Dr. John C. Lechleiter
2014 Mayor Greg Ballard and Mrs. Winnie Ballard
2013 Mark Miles
2011 Tim Solso
2010 Gov. Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.
2008 IU-Kenya Partnership
2007 Dr. Martin C. Jischke

2006 Ambassador Randall L. Tobias
2005 James T. Morris
2004 Christel DeHaan
2003 30th Anniversary Award: The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
2002 Rev. Fr. Boniface Hardin, O.S.B.

2001 Sidney Taurel
2000 Tony George
1999 Jeff Smulyan
1998 Bret Waller
1997 Lawrence H. Einhorn, M.D.
1996 Kai and Tom Binford
1995 KP Singh

1993 Margaret Sheridan
1993 Dr. Geoffrey Bannister
1991 Maestro Raymond Leppard
1990 The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton
1990 Sr. Marie Pierre Buttell
1989 The Honorable William H. Hudnut

1989 George Mikelsons
1987 The Honorable Robert D. Orr
1986 The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
1985 Riad Shaheen